CEN, the European Committee for Standardisation, is an association that brings together the National Standardisation Bodies of 33 European countries. CEN provides a platform for the development of European Standards and other technical documents in relation to various kinds of products, materials, services and processes.

Standards determine:

  • Safety requirements
  • Main product characteristics, testing and tolerances
  • The means to evaluate quality levels of products

The BBSA sponsors a UK technical expert on the main CEN working parties involved in internal and external blinds and shutters to ensure that UK interests are represented in the development of standards.

You can see the main standards for the blind and shutter industry on the pdf opposite.

All standards are voluntary but there are parts of standards which become mandatory via EU and UK regulations for example:

  • Child safety requirements of internal blinds (from EN 13120) are determined under the General Product Safety Regulations
  • CE Marking for external products is determined under the Construction Product Regulations
  • CE Marking for motorised products is determined by the Machinery Directive

In the UK standards are published by the British Standards Institution (BSI) and are available to purchase from the BSI shop 

Keep Warm


Click to watch the video.

Control Glare


Click to watch the video.

Join the BBSA


Click here to find out more.